Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Sea Trout fishing

Hello all

I'm completely new to Sea Trout fishing - and I am wondering about general tactics and flies.
    I'm sort of getting the impression that choice of fly doesn't matter as much as depth of presentation and retrieval speed - is that fair?
    Also - fishing on surface vs at depth - any suggestions as the surface Muddler fishing seems simpler if not 'wrong' !!

I'm not a huge fan of the tandem hook flies, so will generally be fishing muddlers, mallard & claret, golden butcher etc. am I constraining my chances?

My local river has a couple of pools currently stuffed with sea trout in this low water - but the stretch is 30 yards long at most. Seems rather futile to flog the same pools all night!

Help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Originally posted by Crabacle View Post
    Hello all

I'm completely new to Sea Trout fishing - and I am wondering about general tactics and flies.
    I'm sort of getting the impression that choice of fly doesn't matter as much as depth of presentation and retrieval speed - is that fair?
    Also - fishing on surface vs at depth - any suggestions as the surface Muddler fishing seems simpler if not 'wrong' !!

I'm not a huge fan of the tandem hook flies, so will generally be fishing mallard & claret, golden butcher etc. am
    Welcome Crabacle.