Sweeney Todd Fly Dressing

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sweeney Todd Fly Dressing

I have been looking at my Sea Trout Flies and have come across the Sweeney Todd Reservoir Fly, I would be very confident with this fly when fishing for Sea Trout, particularly at night. Does anyone use these dressed any different when fishing for Sea Trout?
    Thanks in anticipation, holly.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VDAyW7EddHc

I've tied up a few of these, reckon they'll be deadly...

Comment

Sweeny Todd Flies

Originally posted by T7 View Post
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VDAyW7EddHc

I've tied up a few of these, reckon they'll be deadly...
      Cheers T7, hope you have great success with them.

holly.

Comment

I have some direct experience of this. In the late 1970s a friend, Peter Readman, that I was fishing with on the Border Esk claimed that it ought to be possible to catch sea trout on any of the then popular lure patterns that were being used for reservoir rainbows. Tom Ivens had already shown that his Jersey Herd pattern was good for sea trout. We duly tried Baby Dolls, Appetisers, Sweeney Todds and others. Most worked, some better than others. The Appetiser was very effective on dark nights fished on a sunk line (all that marabou flowing about) but it fell to pieces quickly. Most effective, by far, was the Sweeney Todd and I ended using it a lot for sea trout in the 1980s on both the Border Esk and the Towy. As you'll see from the picture, I gave up on standard longshank reservoir hooks (too narrow in the gape and not strong enough) and tied it mainly on Size 4 Partridge Wilson Dry Fly low water salmon singles (Code 01, I think). I also substituted black seal's fur as the body material. The rest of it, black squirrel hair wing, oval silver rib, Globrite No 4 throat and claret hackle is, I think, according to Dick Walker's original dressing.