Flies for different areas and rivers.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flies for different areas and rivers.

Evening everyone. I'm trying to compile a library or reference list of recommended flies for rivers in different areas of the UK for myself. This might be a well-covered subject on the forum so I'd appreciate suggestions for maybe half dozen of the best for the rivers you fish regularly. I'll collate it and post it up on the forum.

Originally posted by Dai View Post
    Evening everyone. I'm trying to compile a library or reference list of recommended flies for rivers in different areas of the UK for myself. This might be a well-covered subject on the forum so I'd appreciate suggestions for maybe half dozen of the best for the rivers you fish regularly. I'll collate it and post it up on the forum.
    Hi Dai, before I proceed I think it is appropriate to let you know, I'm relatively new to the River Lune in terms of experience, however, these are flies I have caught with:
    Silver Stoat's Tail, Stoat's Tail, Mallard and Claret, Teal Blue and Silver/Medicine, Invicta. Here's a fly from the early 1940/50 - John Spencer.
    Hope this is of use. holly.

Comment

Flies

As an angler I have boxes of flies in every colour/size combination but never really use them except in desperation!
      For the Dwyfor I tend to stick to 5 flies but in a lot of different sizes for water conditions even the part of the pool, also vary the body from "normal" tinsel to holographic or mylar.
      Teal Blue Silver always on low water salmon hook/double on the point then either a Mallard & Claret or more usually a Kingfisher Butcher with a black squirrel wing on the dropper. Blue & silver tandem sometimes with a spot of red & the surface lure.
      After fishing for Sea Trout for 40 years I have come to the conclusion (in my experience) that is not so much the fly itself but the profile/depth/size/speed that matters most.

Comment