Tackle for the Teifi?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tackle for the Teifi?

I'm soon to be retiring to West Wales and am looking forward to taking up the opportunity to fish the Teifi. I'm completely new to river fishing, having spent most of my angling time still water trout fly fishing. My armourey currently consists of a 9.5 foot AFTM 7 to 8 weight fly rod. Holiday rock fishing has added a 7 foot spinning rod.

At this stage I'm not sufficiently confident to wade so am likely to be spending my first outings from the banks. How well is my current tackle going to cope in pursuing a spectrum of quarry (primarily trout and sewin) and with the different river conditions that might arise on the Teifi?

Any help to give me a half reasonable chance would be much appreciated!

Cheers

Roger

Teifi Terrorist (Steffan) is the man to speak to mate...

Comment

Any chance of anyone helping with this?

Would it be possible for someone to give some more detailed information about this? It would be helpful and much appreciated. Thanks

Comment

I am not an expert on the Teifi but i use a 10ft 7wt rod, so a 9ft 6ins should be fine, lines, floater through to medium fast sinker.
        Flies Moc Morgans & G Harris book Succesfull sea trout fishing should see you right. But Steffan has written some good articles in Trout & Salmon.
        Chest waders and a torch, and finally prey for drier warmer weather!
        Tight Lines
        Aled

Comment

Originally posted by Rwatking View Post
          I'm soon to be retiring to West Wales and am looking forward to taking up the opportunity to fish the Teifi. I'm completely new to river fishing, having spent most of my angling time still water trout fly fishing. My armourey currently consists of a 9.5 foot AFTM 7 to 8 weight fly rod. Holiday rock fishing has added a 7 foot spinning rod.