New Toy

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Toy

The other week i spoiled myself, by buying a Sage Z-AXIS 11foot switch rod blank.

I was going to get my mate to build it, but he told me could not start it till the end of September::. wanted to get a few sewin on it before the end of the season, so thought i would have a go at it myself~# have not built a rod for about 30 years so was a bit worried i might mess it up. but think it came out fine, whats your thought guys.

Full rod.

Handle.

Lower butt section.

Upper butt section.

As i said, it is my first build for many years. butt i am happy the way it turned out, now i need to get a few fish on it. soon as the river is fish able,

Can see me building a Sage 10 foot 5# for the grayling next.

Dai.
    Any Day with a Y in it, is a good day to go fishing.

http://daijonesflies.blogspot.com/

Ring spacing looks effective & even. Whipping & finishing looks a diamond job.

Only thing now is to test it out give us some feedback on the rod action.

Who knows, you may be building one for one of us on here.

Nice job.

Jon

Comment

Blymin 'eck Dai, that is a fantasic piece of work!!! :}

Cracking looking rod, credit where credit's due.

I'd be carrying hand wipes around with me if that was mine, to make sure that I didn't get the handles dirty!!! :>

Top notch, seriously.

TT.

Comment

Cheers guys, Thanks for your comments, the more i look at it the more happy i am with it.

As i said have not built a rod for over 30 years, but will say i had a lot of practice as i had my own rod building company in the 70s/80s. till i went abroad to live,

Dr Jon, will let you know how it works, did have the ring spacing of the sage site. and used a medium build epoxy on the rings, looks better then the heavy build epoxy. and did try and get the whipping as close to a factory built rod,

just ordered a rod bag and tube for it this morning, to keep it safe:>

Dai.

Comment